Berhane, Daska Win 36th BolderBOULDER

(0 votes)

Eritrean men, Ethiopean women win International Team Challenges; Flanagan and Quigley are first USA finishers - BOULDER, Colo. (May 26, 2014) – BolderBOULDER, America’s All-Time Best 10K, today announced that 52,115 walkers, joggers and runners registered for the 2014 race and 45,828 racers crossed the finish line this Memorial Day. The registration and finisher numbers do not reflect the additional 2,600 service men and women that participated in BolderBOULDER military satellite races around the world.

“We knew going into today that we had registration numbers close to 50,000 and then we registered an additional 1,100 runners on race day, making it the third largest race day registration in the history of the BolderBOULDER,” said race director Cliff Bosley.

Scott Dahlberg, 29, from Fort Collins, Colo. won the men’s citizen’s race with a time of 30 minutes, 50 seconds and Sarah Crouch, 24, from South Lake Tahoe, Calif. won the women’s race with a time of 35:12.

Following the BolderBOULDER road race was the International Team Challenge. The BolderBOULDER established the International Team Challenge in 1998 and it includes professional runners from all over the world that compete on three-person teams in a team by country format, for one of the largest non-marathon prize purse races in the country. This year’s total prize purse is valued at $145,240 before bonuses.

Ethiopians Tsegay and Tufa Set Ottawa Marathon course records

Written by IAAF.

(0 votes)

Despite much of the course blanketed in an early morning fog, the 2014 Scotiabank Ottawa marathon, an IAAF Silver Label Road Race, saw Ethiopia’s Yemane Tsegay and Tigist Tufa produce course records on Sunday (25).

After passing the halfway point in 1:02:45, the men’s lead pack gradually succumbed to the effort, leaving Tsegay alone in front for the last 12 kilometres. Despite repeatedly looking over his shoulder to assess his lead, and occasionally rubbing his right hamstring, which was cramping, the 29-year-old crossed the line in 2:06:54.

The victory earned him a $20,000 first place prize and a $10,000 course record bonus.

In addition, he claimed $10,000 and a 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe car for breaking the Canadian all-comers’ mark of 2:07:05 that had been set at the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon last October by Tsegay’s countryman, Derissa Chimsa.

Mulugeta Wami,  the brother of 1999 IAAF World Championships 10,000m gold medallist Gete Wami,  finished second in 2:08:18 with Kenya’s Ishimael Chemtan lowering his personal best to finish third in 2:08:35.

Keitany Wins Ottawa 10k in convincing comeback race

Written by IAAF.

(0 votes)

As far as comebacks go Mary Keitany couldn’t have enjoyed a better return as she won the Lowertown Brewery Ottawa 10k, an IAAF Silver Label Road Race, in a course record of 31:22 on Saturday (25).

The 32-year-old Kenyan star gave birth to her daughter, Samantha, 13 months ago and chose the Canadian race to test herself against a strong field in her first race since the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Keitany seized control of the race by the halfway point reached in 15:47 and quickly put distance between her and the second place finisher Ruti Aga, of Ethiopia, who finished in 32:21 on a warm and muggy evening.

Kenya’s Caroline Kilel. the 2011 Boston Marathon winner, took third place in 32:31.

Ottawa is unique in that the elite ladies are given a head start of 4:10 and the first to cross the line, male or female, earns a $4,000 bonus to go with the $6,000 first place prize. Keitany was successful on both counts, and the course record earned her an additional $2,000.

My excellent adventure: The World Relays, my take on this great concept

Written by Larry Eder, RunBlogRun.

(0 votes)

The World Relays are a success in the first year. This is a no-brainer. But, kind reader, why should the sport embrace this type of event? How do we grow the sport back into the splendor of old with the view from a changed world? Here are some modest suggestions! 

It is Monday morning, and the clouds are out. The World Relays are over and I feel like I have been three Keith Richards binge. What I mean by that, is even thought I no longer consume alcohol, the long hours, the busy days and nights catch up. So, after one more column today, I am shutting down the computer for a bit, going to the beach and reading poorly translated Chinese science fiction with a political twist. 

The World Relays to me, were a great success. Here is why:

Kenyan stars Mutai, Kiprop and Keitany head up Ottawa’s 10km and marathon

Written by IAAF.

(0 votes)

Spectators lining the streets of Ottawa on Saturday night (24) will witness an epic race as two-time New York Marathon champion Geoffrey Mutai faces 2010 world half marathon champion Wilson Kiprop in the Lowertown Brewery Ottawa 10km, the first of the Canadian capital city’s two IAAF Silver Label Road Races.

The Scotiabank Ottawa Marathon is scheduled for the following morning (25).

Mutai and Kiprop have been pitted against one another several times over the years in Kenya with Kiprop winning all four of their duels, but they have never raced each other abroad, nor have they raced against one another on the roads.

The edge may once again go to Kiprop this time as Mutai ran the London Marathon last month, finishing a disappointed sixth in 2:08:18. Nevertheless, Mutai – a past winner of the Boston, Berlin and New York Marathons – relishes the challenge.

“After London, up until now, I am not too sure of my fitness as I have not yet trained fully,” said Mutai after stepping off a cross-Atlantic sleep-deprived flight from Nairobi via Amsterdam and Toronto.

American Women Look to Retake Podium at Freihofer’s Run for Women 5K

Written by Source: Freihofer's Run for Women.

(0 votes)

It has been a decade since the last American woman (Marla Runyan) won this IAAF silver-labeled 5K crown in Albany, N.Y.  Van Alstine, Hogan, Lillenthal, Moody, Pezzullo and Rhines will take on the world’s best distance stars - ALBANY, NY— It has been a decade since the last American woman (Marla Runyan) won this IAAF silver-labeled 5K crown in Albany, N.Y.
Looking to break that lengthy drought at the 36th Freihofer’s Run for Women on Saturday, May 31 is a cadre of talented U.S. distance runners with a point to prove. These ladies will not only be battling their elite international counterparts for pride, but also for more than $28,500 in cash prizes, including $10,000 reserved for the first woman to cross the finish line at the Empire State Plaza.
With a 5K road PB of 15:30, Amy Van Alstine (Flagstaff, Ariz.), 24, is a definite contender who is peaking at just the right time.  The University of Richmond graduate, who trains with the newly created Northern Arizona Elite Club, won the 8K U.S. Cross-Country Championships in February in Boulder, Colo. (27:34) against a talented field that featured two-time world championships 1,500m medalist Jenny Simpson. The adidas-sponsored athlete also notched a second place finish at Stanford’s Payton Jordan Invitational 5,000 (15:23) and was the second American at the recent Carlsbad 5000, an event recognized for fast times and world records.