Cowtown Elite Prize Purse Announced for 2014 Race

(0 votes)

Over $30,000 prize purse for 2014 Cowtown Marathon - FORT WORTH, Texas — The Cowtown announced that it will be offering more than $30,000 in cash prizes for the fastest runners in the 2014 Marathon this year, introducing a new program called Cowtown Elite.  All told, The Cowtown plans to give away $31,000 as part of its new program – a $25,000 purse to be split between all of the men and women bettering the existing course and event records and the remainder to the top finishers.

“As the largest multi-event race in Texas, we feel that the timing is right to join other world class distance events and offer prize money.  We are thrilled to be able to offer our runners the opportunity to challenge themselves and be a part of this new award,” said Heidi Swartz, executive director of The Cowtown.

Marathon organizers teamed up with to offer prize money to encourage elite and development athletes to participate in the marathon.  The marathon organizers created the prizes to encourage elite and developmental athletes to participate in the marathon. is partially funding the prize purses.

$40,500 American Prize Purse Added to 2014 Pittsburgh Marathon

(0 votes)

May 4 event total prize purse exceeds $135,000; American Development Program supports the new generation of world-class U.S. runners in Pittsburgh - PITTSBURGH, Pa. – As part of its recently launched American Development Program, Pittsburgh Three Rivers Marathon, Inc. announced a new American prize purse of $40,500 to the 2014 DICK’S Sporting Goods Pittsburgh Marathon weekend of events. The event, set for Sunday, May 4, will offer bonuses to the top five American men and women finishers, including $4,500 to the first U.S. citizen in the DICK’S Sporting Goods Pittsburgh Marathon and $3,000 to the first in the UPMC Health Plan Pittsburgh Half Marathon.

“Pittsburgh is known as the City of Champions and we want to support the development of world-class American runners at our events in Pittsburgh,” said Patrice Matamoros, CEO of Pittsburgh Three Rivers Marathon, Inc. “Post-collegiate professionals need more opportunities such as American Development Program to chase their dreams, and with our expanding strong race fields, we hope to launch many American dreams right here in Pittsburgh.”

Tsegaye Mekonnen continues the debutants’ winning streak to break world junior record

(0 votes)

Marathon novices mantained their domination in Dubai: a debutant won the Standard Chartered Dubai title for the third consecutive occasion in this IAAF Gold Label Race. Ethiopia’s Tsegaye Mekonnen continued this impressive sequence as the 18 year-old sprang a surprise, running 2:04:32 in his first marathon. This achievement improved the unofficial World Junior Record by breaking the record set by Eric Ndiema (Kenia), who ran 2:06:07 in Amsterdam 2011.; also unprecedented was a sub-2:06 performance by an 18-year-old, let alone breaking 2:05.

There was much pre-race talk about the possibility of another debutants’ winner.But the athlete in this context was not Tsegaye Mekonnen. It was Atsedu Tsegay, who had recently impressed with a half marathon victory in New Delhi and was targeting a sub 2:05 time. Dubai is known to produce surprises, and it was no different on Friday: While Tsegay did not finish his debut, fellow-Ethiopian Tsegaye Mekonnen stormed to victory, upsetting the experienced marathon runners as well.


(0 votes)

Erick Mose, Julius Keter Among Top International Elites with Eyes Set on the Win - LOS ANGELES (January 23, 2014) — A stacked line-up  of more than 20 of the world’s most competitive distance runners—including defending men’s champion Erick Mose and 2013 men’s runner-up Julius Keter—headline the field for the 2014 ASICS LA Marathon, which will be held on Sunday, March 9th 2014.

This year’s ASICS LA Marathon, which will once again follow its popular Stadium to the Sea course, starting at Dodger Stadium and finishing near the Santa Monica Pier, will be the 29th edition of the race, which became an annual event following the historic 1984 Olympic Game in Los Angeles.

Meselech Melkamu and Meseret Hailu ready to attack 2:20 barrier in Dubai

(0 votes)

(photo: Meselech Melkamu (left) and Meseret Hailu on JumeirahBeach with the Burj Al Arab Hotel in the background.T aken by: Giancarlo Colombo / ) Standard Chartered DubaiMarathonlive on the internet - Meleselech Melkamu and Meseret Hailu are ready to attack the 2:20barrier in Friday’s Standard Chartered DubaiMarathon, which is an IAAF Gold Label Race. The respective marathon best performances of the two Ethiopian stars are only eight seconds apart. While Melkamu will be the fastest in the field on Friday with 2:21:01, Hailu’s PB stands at 2:21:09. “We want to run fast, we want to run sub 2:20and we will work together,” said Meselech Melkamu on the eve of the race.

“To run below 2:20is our goal, this is why we have come to Dubai,” said Meseret Hailu, with Meselech Melkamu taking on the role of interpreter. 18 women have so far broken the prestigious 2:20barrier in marathon history. In Dubaithree runners have achieved that feat with the course record standing at Aselefech Mergia’s (Ethiopia) time 2:19:31in 2012.