Loaded fields set for 2014 Chevron Houston Marathon

(0 votes)

Aramco Houston Half Marathon to host USA Half Marathon Championships - HOUSTON (January 9, 2014) - The 42nd edition of the Chevron Houston Marathon Race Weekend features stacked fields in both the Chevron Houston Marathon and the Aramco Houston Half Marathon, which plays host to the USA Half Marathon Championships.

"Our Elite Athlete Committee has done its homework, as always, to produce a field that has the potential to rewrite our race record book," said Chevron Houston Marathon Race Director Brant Kotch. "A number of top finishers from last year's weather-challenged races will get another chance to show us their best, but they will have to prove their fitness against some talented newcomers. The four deep fields should be propelled to some great times on our new and even faster course. We're equally excited about the return of the USA Half Marathon Championships, where the American athletes have given us a big vote of confidence by turning out in numbers that far exceed our previous experience with the Championships from 2005 through 2011. Again, the key word is "deep" - sprint finishes could easily be the order of the day."

Meselech Melkamu and Meseret Hailu present a formidable duo at the head of impressive Dubai women’s field

(0 votes)

( photo: Meselech Melkamu winning her marathon debut in Frankfurt 2012) Two of Ethiopia’s leading marathon talents will be competing at the Standard Chartered DubaiMarathonon 24th January: Meselech Melkamu and Meseret Hailu head a strong women’s elite field. With nine runners owning personal bests of sub 2:24, this is among the best elite fields ever assembled in the history of the event, which has consistently made headlines for outstanding performances. On the superflat Dubaicourse the 2:20barrier and possibly the course record of 2:19:31are likely to be under attack from such a talented array of women. The Standard Chartered DubaiMarathonis an IAAF Gold Label Road Race.

On occasion the women’s results in the Standard Chartered Dubai Marathon have been overshadowed by express performances from the men. This is unlikely to be the case for the latest edition on 24th January. “Such is the quality of the field, there is every chance that the women’s results in this year’s Standard Chartered Dubai Marathon might just outshine those of the men,” said Event Director Peter Connerton, who also announced that the registration deadline of December 31 has been extended right up to the eve of the race itself.

John Hancock Announces USA Elite Team for 2014 Boston Marathon

Written by John Hancock.

(0 votes)

Exceptional U.S. squad includes experienced marathoners with Olympic and World Championship credentials - BOSTON (January 7, 2014) — John Hancock Financial announced the Elite USA Team for the 118th running of the Boston Marathon on April 21, 2014. The exceptional U.S. team, recruited to compete with a deep international field, includes Desiree Davila Linden, Shalane Flanagan, Amy Hastings, Serena Burla, Adriana Nelson, Dathan Ritzenhein, Meb Keflezighi, Brett Gotcher, Jason Hartmann, Nick Arciniaga and Jeffrey Eggleston.

Each member of the team has competed for the U.S. in Olympic or World Championships and brings strong credentials to compete in Boston.

Desiree Davila Linden returns to Boston ready to race and seek the title. In 2011, she narrowly missed winning by two seconds, as she set a 2:22:38 American course record. In 2012, Linden finished second at the U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials and most recently placed fifth at the 2013 Berlin Marathon.

Kenyan men have strong hopes of regaining top honours in Dubai but Ethiopian debutants pose a threat

(0 votes)

(Photo Left)Dubai’s unprecedented finish in 2013: Five runners achieved times of sub 2:05, a feat so far unmatched in marathon history, with Lelisa Desisa winning the title. Photo: Helmut Winter

Kenyan runners have an imposing record of success in the major city marathons in recent years but Dubaiis an exception to the rule. Ethiopians rule the roost when it comes to the men’s competition on this superfast course.

Kenyahas produced a men’s champion on just one of the past six occasions when David Barmasai broke through on the international scene three years ago. Otherwise Ethiopiahas dominated with their athletes showing an unprecedented depth of talent in the past two years. By coincidence, both men’s winners were debutants at the classic road distance who promptly ran world-class times. Ayele Abshero broke the course record with 2:04:23in 2012 and Lelisa Desisa clocked 2:04:45last year. When the next edition is staged on 24th January the Kenyans will be going all out to reclaim supremacy. But the Ethiopian blend of experience and promising debutants could prove a potent mix.

Wardian Wins Rock ‘n’ Roll San Antonio, Heads to Second Start Line

(0 votes)

Jena Kincaid takes women’s title, Abraham Rutto, Dani Fischer win half marathon, 26,000 entrants compete as 6th annual event returns to San Antonio, 84  runners tackle SA2LV challenge, completing two races in one day

San Antonio, TX – November 17, 2013 – The first half of an epic attempt ended well for 39-year-old Michael Wardian, who won the Rock ‘n’ Roll San Antonio Marathon in 2 hours, 31 minutes and 19 seconds. After crossing the finish line, Wardian headed straight to the airport, bound for a second marathon attempt at Rock ‘n’ Roll Las Vegas this evening.

“I felt really comfortable out there so I hope that bodes well for lacing up again tonight,” he said. “That’s what it’s all about, just trying to get out there and see if you can do a little more than you think you can and hopefully inspiring people to push themselves.”