(0 votes)

High Quality Dozen challenge Honours in Prague - The Czech capital will stage one of the highest calibre half marathon races anywhere in the world on March 28: a dozen runners with personal bests under 61 minutes will be on the start list for the Sportisimo Prague Half Marathon. The women’s race is just as strong in prospect with nine athletes showing fastest performances of under 70 minutes. Leading the charts for fastest career times are Leonard Komon and Lucy Kabuu. The Sportisimo Prague Half Marathon is an IAAF Gold Label race.

“This is, of course, one of the strongest fields we’ve ever had in Prague. We’ve never had 12 runners with personal bests of under 61 minutes in the race. I think we can look forward to some great competition,” says Carlo Capalbo, President of the organising team.

Cragg Dominates, True Repeats at USATF 15K Championships

(0 votes)

In similar fashion to the last two years, True sprinted home to victory, bouncing back from his performance at the USATF Cross Country Championships last month - JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (March 14, 2015) - Olympian Amy Cragg (nee Hastings) dominated the women’s field to win her first USATF 15K title, while Ben True pulled away late to win his third consecutive title at the USATF 15K Championships, hosted by the Gate River Run.

The USATF 15K Championships are the first stop on the 2015 USATF Running Circuit. The top 15 finishers at each race on the circuit qualify to compete in the 2015 .US National 12K, which takes place November 15 in Alexandria, Virginia

Cragg, along with USATF Cross Country champion Laura Thweatt, led the women’s field from the gun, as a pack of nearly 20 athletes ran together for much of the first three miles of the race. As a variety of runners traded leads, including Neely Gracey, Mattie Suver and Kellyn Taylor, the field dwindled down to seven runners past the 5K mark.

Korir, Huddle Win 2015 United Airlines NYC Half

(0 votes)

Elmira, NY native Molly Huddle (USA) took first place in  1:08:31, tying the event record set last year by Sally Kipyego. Leonard Korir edged out Stephen Sambu in the men's race - NEW YORK (March 15, 2014) —A pair of athletes with New York roots made their mark at the 2015 United Airlines NYC Half.

Former Iona College standout Leonard Korir (KEN) won the men’s race in 1 hour, 1 minute, 6 seconds, edging out top-returning entrant Stephen Sambu (KEN) in 1:01:07, and third-place finisher Juan Luis Barrios (MEX) in 1:01:14.

“I like New York. I went to school here,” said Korir, 28, a native of Kenya who spoke only a few words of English when he first arrived in New York to attend Iona, from which he graduated in 2012 with a degree in political science. “I wanted to give all I could to win this race because I love this place.”

True Eyes Repeat at USATF 15K Championships

(0 votes)

The USATF 15K Championships once again showcase many of the top distance runners in the United States and should provide tremendous racing from start to finish - JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- Ben True looks to defend his USATF 15K championship title, while Laura Thweatt hopes to build upon her USATF Cross Country victory last month, as the USATF 15K Championships take place Saturday morning, March 11, at Jacksonville's Gate River Run.

The USATF 15K Championships are the third stop on the 2015 USATF Running Circuit, which concludes with the .US National 12K in historic Alexandria, Virginia. The top ten finishers at each race on the circuit qualify to compete in the .US National 12K.

Last year, True pulled away from Chris Derrick during the late stages of the race, winning by 12 seconds, a level of fitness he carried over to the track two months later when he ran 13:02.74 over 5,000m. While True finished a disappointing 11th at last month’s USATF Cross Country Championships, he’s proven consistent racing on the roads.

Vattenfall BERLIN HALF MARATHON on March 29: Cheroben and Kipkemoi going for a course record on the streets of Berlin

(0 votes)

The 35th edition of the Vattenfall BERLIN HALF MARATHON will see a clash of world-class Kenyan runners Abraham Cheroben and Kenneth Kipkemoi. Both hope to become the new course record holder of Germany's biggest and most prestigious half marathon race. However the mark they target is a very good one: It was fellow-Kenyan Patrick Makau, who clocked 58:56 minutes back in 2007. While Cheroben and Kipkemoi will opt for a pace that is fast enough for a sub 59 minutes' finish another record will be targeted on Sunday: Germany's Arne Gabius hopes to break the 22 year-old German best. It was back in 1993, when Carsten Eich took the Vattenfall BERLIN HALF MARATHON with 60:34 – a result which at that time also was a European record.

A year ago Abraham Cheroben caused quite a surprise when he followed big favourite Leonard Komon of Kenya all the way in the Vattenfall BERLIN HALF MARATHON. Beaten by just a step at the end Cheroben was given the same time as Komon, who won with 59:14. Both clocked the third fastest time ever run in the history of the event.