Reebok Floatride Run

Record Field Readies for Age Group Nationals in Milwaukee

Top amateur triathletes from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. to race for titles - COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Highlighted by 35 defending national champions and five reigning world champions, a record field of more than 4,300 competitors will compete in this weekend's 2013 USA Triathlon Age Group National Championships on the shores of Lake Michigan in Milwaukee, Wis.

Action will begin Saturday with the Olympic-Distance National Championships, followed Sunday with the Sprint National Championships. Races will begin at 7:30 a.m. each day near the Milwaukee Art Museum and Discovery World. A live video stream of both events will be available at    

More than 4,300 athletes will compete in Milwaukee, Wis., this weekend. (Lee Krohn/USA Triathlon)

National titles will be up for grabs in 28 age groups. The Olympic-distance event consists of a 1.5-kilometer swim, 40-kilometer bike and 10-kilometer run course, while the sprint event is comprised of a 750m swim, a 20k bike and a 5k run.

Held each year since 1983, the Olympic-distance race at Age Group Nationals has grown substantially in popularity over the past two years. Sprint Nationals, a USA Triathlon-owned National Championship event for just the fourth year, will experience a record-high field as well. The 2012 event, held in Burlington, Vt., featured a record total of more than 3,500 registered competitors, and combined participation in the two races has more than doubled since 2010.

Highlighting this year's expected field are 35 defending champions - 17 Olympic-distance winners and 18 sprint champions - from last year's memorable event in Burlington:

Returning Olympic-Distance National Champions
2012 Age Group: Name (Hometown), 2012 Time
F30-34: Kirsten Sass (McKenzie, Tenn.), 2:10:01
M35-39: Matthew Payne (Columbia Heights, Minn.), 1:57:52
F40-44: Adrienne Leblanc (Scottsdale, Ariz.), 2:11:32
M40-44: Doug Clark (Morristown, N.J.), 1:57:28
F45-49: Steph Popelar (Parker, Colo.), 2:16:12
M45-49: Brian Bich (Duluth, Minn.), 2:00:02
F50-54: Ellen Hart (Denver, Colo.), 2:21:32
M50-54: Eduardo Bernal (Plantation, Fla.), 2:06:31
F55-59: Donna Smyers (Adamant, Vt.), 2:24:31
M55-59: Ron Gierut (Cedar Rapids, Iowa), 2:12:56
F60-64: Nancy Avitabile (Bethesda, Md.), 2:45:53
M60-64: Dale Mosher (Anderson, S.C.), 2:20:53
F65-69: Lauren Binder (Portland, Ore.), 2:39:20
M65-69: Tom Dutton (Livonia, N.Y.), 2:29:57
F70-74: Beatrice Burns (Hamden, Conn.), 2:59:46
M70-74: Roger Little (Bedford, Mass.), 2:43:17
F75-79: Sheila Isaacs (Shoreham, N.Y.), 3:53:41*
M75-79: Jon Adamson (Alpharetta, Ga.), 2:45:06
*Denotes athlete racing Sprint Nationals instead of Olympic-Distance Nationals

Returning Sprint National Champions
2012 Age Group: Name (Hometown), 2012 Time
F17-19: Taylor Fogg (Colorado Springs, Colo.), 1:07:50**
M17-19: Brent Demarest (Charleston, S.C.), 59:06
M20-24: Thomas Pilliod (Marietta, Ga.), 58:44**
F25-29: Robyn Winkler (McKenzie, Tenn.), 1:10:54
M35-39: Jeffrey Fejfar (Olive Branch, Miss.), 1:00:42
F40-44: Sara Cannon (Portland, Ore.), 1:09:58
M40-44: Dave Slavinski (Point Pleasant, N.J.), 59:26
F45-49: Kerry Simmons (Point Lookout, N.Y.), 1:08:44
F50-54: Tracy Disabato-Aust (Sunbury, Ohio), 1:10:42
M50-54: Bobby Gonzales (El Paso, Texas), 1:03:22
F60-64: Ann Dannis (Dallas, Texas), 1:19:32
M60-64: Michael Orendorff (Pueblo, Colo.), 1:07:42
F65-69: Ruth Hamilton (McLean, Va.), 1:31:25
M70-74: Marshall Wakat (Charleston, S.C.), 1:20:25
M75-79: Roger Brockenbrough (Pittsburgh, Pa.), 1:32:13**
M80-84: Wayne Fong (Chatsworth, Calif.), 2:08:57
M85+: Robert Powers (White Bear Lake, Minn.), 2:24:51
Clydesdale 40+: Mark Ziegert (Granger, Ind.), 1:08:21
**Denotes athlete racing Olympic-Distance Nationals instead of Sprint Nationals

Additionally, five age group winners from the 2012 ITU World Championships will toe the line in Milwaukee. Olympic-distance world champions Kelly Dippold (50-54, Overland, Kan.), Elizabeth Brackett (70-74, Chicago, Ill.) and Dave Robinette (70-74, Centennial, Colo.) are on the start list, along with sprint world champions Jonathan Reik (60-64, West Hart, Conn.) and Lynda Lubelczyk (60-64, Manchester, N.H.).

This weekend's competitors hail from all 50 states and the District of Columbia after meeting qualification standards at USA Triathlon-sanctioned qualifying events throughout the 2013 season.
In addition to the bragging rights of claiming a national title, athletes will be competing for coveted spots to represent the U.S. at the 2014 ITU World Championships in Edmonton, Canada. The top 18 finishers (rolling down to 25th place) in each age group in both the Olympic-distance and sprint events in Milwaukee will qualify for a Team USA slot. 

Team USA is comprised of amateur athletes who represent the United States at each ITU world championship event. The 2013 ITU World Championships, which age-groupers qualified for in Burlington last year, will take place Sept. 13 and 15 in London, England.

The Milwaukee-area community is encouraged to come out and support the competitors and experience the excitement of multisport. Admission is free to all spectators.

About USA Triathlon
Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon - the fastest growing sport in the U.S. Olympic Movement - as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with more than 630,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches, and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Summer Olympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).