The Valencia Marathon Trinidad Alfonso EDP has published the definitive list of the 218 elite athletes who will compete on 6 December in the city of running to beat the circuit’s current records and get as close as possible to the men’s and women’s world records in the marathon and half marathon.

The event will be one of the few World Athletics Label road races held after the long break without competitions caused by Covid-19, meaning it is also a rare qualifying opportunity for elite athletes. More than 100 runners from 43 different countries will line up in Valencia in a bid to achieve Olympic qualifying times (2:11:30 for men and 2:29:30 for women).

In accordance with the regulations for World Athletics Platinum Label road races, a top-10 finish, regardless of time, constitutes an Olympic qualifying performance.

The marathon has attracted some of the best athletes in the world, including the recently crowned world half marathon Peres Jepchirchir of Kenya, world half marathon silver medallist Melat Kejeta of Germany, former world half marathon record-holder Joyciline Jepkosgei, 2019 Tokyo Marathon champion Ruti Aga, the fastest in the field with a PB of 2:18:34, and fellow Ethiopian Birhane Dibaba.

The men’s marathon line-up is led by Birhanu Legese, the third-fastest man in history, 2019 Valencia winner and course record-holder Kinde Atanaw, world champion Lelisa Desisa, 2018 Valencia champion Leul Gebreselasie (2h04:02), 2019 Chicago Marathon champion Lawrence Cherono and debutant Jemal Yimer.

In total, there are 17 women in the field with sub-2:24 PBs and 21 men with sub-2:07 PBs.

The half marathon fields are just as loaded. The men’s race features a clash between world half marathon champion Jacob Kiplimo and world 10,000m bronze medallist Rhonex Kipruto, who set a world record for 10km on the roads of Valencia earlier this year. The 21-year-old will be making his half marathon debut on 6 December.

World half marathon silver medallist Kibiwott Kandie and two-time world silver medallist Bedan Karoki are also in the line-up.

Ethiopia’s Letesenbet Gidey, who set a stunning world record over 5000m earlier this year, will be making her half marathon debut in Valencia, as will compatriot Genzebe Dibaba, the world record-holder for 1500m.

Fellow Ethiopian Senbere Teferi, the 2015 world silver medallist at 5000m and cross-country, is the fastest in the field with a PB of 1:05:32. Kenya’s Sheila Chepkirui, one of few women to break 30 minutes for 10km on the roads, is also entered.

The organisers will create a health bubble around the race and take exceptional safety measures to ensure a great event with minimal health risks. The race will have its own medical system, which will include the support of an external consultancy to collect all the data and ensure, if necessary, the traceability of the athletes and people involved in organising the race


Elite field highlights


Birhanu Legese (ETH) 2:02:48
Kinde Atanaw (ETH) 2:03:51
Leul Gebreselasie (ETH) 2:04:02
Lawrence Cherono (KEN) 2:04:06
Kaan Kigen Ozbilen (TUR) 2:04:16
Hayle Lemi (ETH) 2:04:33
Reuben Kiprop (KEN) 2:04:40
Lelisa Desisa (ETH) 2:04:45
Abebe Negewo (ETH) 2:04:51
Evans Chebet (KEN) 2:05:00
Philemon Rono (KEN) 2:05:00
Abel Kirui (KEN) 2:05:04
Betesfa Getahun (ETH) 2:05:28
Amos Kipruto (KEN) 2:05:43
Andualem Belay Shiferaw (ETH) 2:06:00
Ashenafi Moges (ETH) 2:06:12
Abdi Nageeye (NED) 2:06:17
Tsedat Ayana (ETH) 2:06:18
Geoffrey Kirui (KEN) 2:06:27
Chalu Deso Gelmisa (ETH) 2:06:29
Daniel Kemboi (KEN) 2:06:31
Lani Rutto (KEN) 2:06:34
Okubay Tsegay (ERI) 2:06:46
Jemal Yimer (ETH) debut

Ruti Aga (ETH) 2:18:34
Birhane Dibaba (ETH) 2:18:35
Degitu Azimeraw (ETH) 2:19:26
Zeineba Yimer (ETH) 2:19:28
Tigist Girma (ETH) 2:19:52
Meskerem Assefa (ETH) 2:20:36
Purity Rionoripo (KEN) 2:20:39
Jordan Hasay (USA) 2:20:57
Helen Tola (ETH) 2:21:01
Helalia Johannes (NAM) 2:22:25
Abeba Gebremeskel (ETH) 2:22:29
Joyciline Jepkosgei (KEN) 2:22:38
Madai Perez Carrilo (MEX) 2:22:59
Hawi Feysa (ETH) 2:23:36
Valeria Straneo (ITA) 2:23:44
Peres Jepchirchir (KEN) 2:23:50
Melat Kejeta (GER) 2:23:57
Fancy Chemutai (KEN) debut

Marathon entry lists


Kibiwott Kandie (KEN) 58:37
Stephen Kiprop (KEN) 58:42
Bedan Karoki (KEN) 58:42
Jacob Kiplimo (UGA) 58:49
Bernard Ngeno (KEN) 59:07
Alexander Mutiso (KEN) 59:09
Julien Wanders (SUI) 59:13
Philemon Kiplimo (KEN) 59:28
Geoffrey Koech (KEN) 59:36
Gabriel Geay (TAN) 59:42
Alfred Barkach (KEN) 59:46
Kelvin Kiptum (KEN) 59:53
Rhonex Kipruto (KEN) debut

Senbere Teferi (ETH) 1:05:32
Dorcas Tuitoek (KEN) 1:06:33
Brenda Jepleting (KEN) 1:07:07
Emily Sisson (USA) 1:07:30
Sheila Chepkirui (KEN) 1:07:37
Letesenbet Gidey (ETH) debut
Genzebe Dibaba (ETH) debut

Half marathon entry lists